Product DescriptionThe concentration of power in the caudillo (leader) is both a formative element of Mexican culture and politics as the historical legacy of the Aztec emperors, Cortes, the Spanish crown, the Mother Church and the mixture of the Spanish population and Indian mestizo culture. Krauze shows how history becomes biography in the century of the insurgent leaders of the priests in 1810 to Porfirio and the Revolution in 1910. The revolutionary period, which ends in 1940, was dominated by the lives of seven presidents – Madero, Zapata, Villa, Carranza, Obregon, Calles and Cardenas. Since 1940, the dominant power of the Presidency has continued through years of boom and bust and crisis. An important question for the mod. . . More>>

Mexico: Biography of Power

Comments are closed.